July 2021: Team member roles & permissions

Feature availability

We've made a major upgrade to team accounts in the BioDigital Human. Teams now come with team member roles and permissions, which empower team administrators to set and manage other team members' app permissions based on each individual's needs.

 

Team member roles

Teams now come with three predefined user roles that can be assigned to any of its members: Administrator, Creator, and Viewer

The table below explains how each role is defined, what actions a team member with is able to take within the app, and when we recommend using it.

Role Definition

Administrator

An Administrator has all of the capabilities of a Creator and a Viewer, as well as full control over Team Models and the ability to set and modify other team members' roles.

  • Like Creators, can view all models in Explore and My Library (Private Models and Team Models), save models to Private Models and Team Models, customize any model in Human Studio, edit/save changes to editable models in Team Models (i.e., models that either they created or that other team members saved with "Team - View & Edit" permissions), publish models from Private Models and Team Models, and invite new team members.
  • Can also edit/save changes to models owned by other team members and saved with "Team - View Only" permissions (i.e., override a model's permissions), delete models created by other team members, change the permissions of any team member's models, transfer ownership of any team member's models to themselves or another team member, assign and modify the roles of other team members, and remove members from the team (with the exception of themselves).

Administrators are best suited to manage team members and organize the team's models. We recommend minimizing the number of Administrators in a given team account to reduce the opportunities for accidentally overwriting other team members' work.

Creator

A Creator has all of the capabilities of a Viewer, as well as access to the authoring tools in Human Studio and the ability to save models to Team Models.

  • Like Viewers, can view all models in Explore and My Library (Private Models and Team Models), save models to Private Models, publish models from Private Models and Team Models, and invite new team members.
  • Can also save models to Team Models, customize any model in Human Studio, and edit/save changes to owned or editable models in Team Models (i.e., models that either they created or that other team members saved with "Team - View & Edit" permissions).

We recommend this role for any team members who will be curating, customizing, and/or collaborating on models.

Viewer

A Viewer is able to view all models in Explore and My Library (Private Models and Team Models), save models to Private Models only, publish models from Private Models and Team Models, and invite new team members.

Viewers cannot save models to or edit models saved in Team Models, and they do not have access to the authoring tools in Human Studio.

We recommend this role for third parties, vendors, advisors, or any other users who need or would benefit from access to the full Human Library and/or models that other members have saved to Team Models, but who do not need access to Human Studio.

This is the default role for new team members.*

*If you would like to request a different default role, please contact your Account Manager or our Customer Experience team.

 

Permissions by role

The table below provides a quick reference on what actions a team member with each role is able to take within the app.

 

Administrator

Creator

Viewer

Save models from Explore to Private Models

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg checkmark.svg

View models saved in Team Models

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg checkmark.svg
Copy a model's URL (see Share a model) checkmark.svg checkmark.svg checkmark.svg

Publish models from Private Models or Team Models

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg checkmark.svg

Invite new members to the team

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg checkmark.svg

Edit or delete models you originally created

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg checkmark.svg

Save models from Explore to Team Models

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg cross.svg

Customize models from Explore or My Library in Human Studio

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg cross.svg

Edit models saved by other team members with "Team - View & Edit" permissions

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg cross.svg

Edit models saved by other team members with "Team - View Only" permissions

checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg
Delete models created by other team members checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg
Change any model's permissions checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg

Transfer models to a different team member

checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg
Assign and modify team members' roles checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg

Remove members from the team

checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg

 

 


FAQs

What roles do my current team members have now?

Most teams have been assigned at least one Administrator who can now set the role of your team members to Viewer, Creator, or Administrator. (Don't see one?) The remaining team members have been automatically assigned the Creator role, which lends them the same permissions they had prior to this update. By default, new team members will be assigned the Viewer role. This means that anyone you invite to your team going forward will be assigned the Viewer role unless otherwise requested.

If you would like to request a different default role for new team members, please contact your Account Manager or our Customer Experience team.

 

How do I assign an Administrator to my team if there isn't one already?

If your team is missing an Administrator, please contact your Account Manager or our Customer Experience team.

 

How do I remove a member from my team?

See Remove members from my team for step-by-step instructions on how Administrators can remove team members. If you are not an Administrator or need to remove yourself from your team, you will need to ask an Administrator for assistance

 

What happens when I remove a member from my team?

When you remove a member from your team, their user account will no longer have access to the Team Models page, including any models owned by other team members.

Additionally, when an Administrator removes a Creator or an Administrator from the team, the Administrator must transfer the departing member's owned models to another team member. These models will still be accessible to the remaining team members in Team Models, as well as in the new owner's Private Models. The removed team member will no longer have access to these models.

Note: The same rules apply when an Administrator downgrades a Creator or an Administrator to a Viewer.

 

Will the existing model-level permissions ("Private," "Team - View Only," and "Team - View and Edit") still work?

Yes and no. A model's sharing permissions will be preserved for other Creators, but Administrators can override these permissions, giving them the ability to edit and manage any models in Team Models regardless of the model's permissions settings.

 

How do I change my role?

You can request a role change from your team's Administrator. You can see who your team Administrator is on the Team page in your account. (To access your team page, click on the   Profile icon in the upper-right corner of the app and select Team from the drop-down menu.)