Change a team member's role

Feature availability

If you are an Administrator of a team, you can upgrade or downgrade any member of your team to a new role–except yourself. Follow the steps below to learn how. (For instructions on removing members from your team, see this related article.)

Note: Administrators are not permitted to downgrade their role to Creator or Viewer ensure there is always at least one Administrator in a team. Only another Administrator from your team, or a member of the BioDigital team, can downgrade an Administrator to a different role.

If you are the only Administrator on your team and must downgrade your role in the team, you should 1) upgrade another team member to the Administrator role and then 2) ask them to downgrade your role.

Learn more about team member roles and permissions here.

Step 1: Navigate to the Team page

Start by pulling up the list of your current team members.

  1. Log in and click on the    profile icon in the upper-right corner of the page
  2. Select Team from the drop-down menu.
    menu_team page_may24.png

Step 2: Select team member(s)

On the Team page, browse or search for the member(s) whose role(s) you would like to change, and follow the instructions below to change them.

    1. Click on the three dots next to the right of member's role.
    2. Hover over Change Role in the drop-down menu.
    3. Select the new role you would like to assign to the member.
      change team member role_single member_select role_may24.png
    4. In the dialog that appears, click Confirm Role Change. change team member role_confirm role change_may24.png
  • If you wish to upgrade or downgrade multiple team members to the same role (e.g., you want to downgrade multiple members to Viewers), you can use bulk actions to speed up the process:

    1. Hold down the Shift key on your keyboard while clicking on each of the names of the team members whose roles you would like to change.
    2. When you are finished making your selection, click [#] selected in the top menu.
    3. Hover over Change Role in the drop-down menu.
    4. Select the new role you would like to assign to the member.
      change team member role_multiple members_may24.png
    5. In the dialog that appears, click Confirm Role Change. change team member role_confirm role change_multiple_may24.png

Step 3 (Viewer downgrades only): Transfer member's shared content

If you are downgrading a member from the Administrator or Creator role to the Viewer role, you will be asked to transfer their content to another, active team member. Given that Viewers do not have permission to share content with the rest of the team, this step ensures that any and all content they previously shared in the "Team" section of My Library is retained by the broader team.

Note: This dialog will appear regardless of whether the user(s) have saved any content in the Team section of My Library.

Take the following steps to transfer the member's content to another team member:

  1. Click Select User to open a drop-down menu containing a list of your team's Administrators and Creators. Note: Content cannot be transferred to a Viewer.
    change team member role_transfer content_may24.png
  2. Select a new owner from the list (or feel free to select yourself).
  3. Click Transfer Content.