About team member roles and permissions

Feature availability

All team accounts come with three predefined user roles—Administrator, Creator, and Viewer—that can be used by team administrators to control each team member's app permissions based on their individual needs.

Team member roles

The table below explains how each role is defined, what actions a team member with is able to take within the app, and when we recommend using it.

Role Definition

Administrator

An Administrator has all of the capabilities of a Creator and a Viewer, as well as full control over Team Models and the ability to set and modify other team members' roles.

  • Like Creators, can view all models in Explore and My Library (Private Models and Team Models), save models to Private Models and Team Models, customize any model in Human Studio, edit/save changes to editable models in Team Models (i.e., models that either they created or that other team members saved with "Team - View & Edit" permissions), publish models from Private Models and Team Models, and invite new team members.
  • Can additionally edit/save changes to models owned by other team members and saved with "Team - View Only" permissions (i.e., override a model's permissions), delete models created by other team members, change the permissions of any team member's models, transfer ownership of any team member's models to themselves or another team member, assign and modify the roles of other team members, and remove members from the team (with the exception of themselves).

We recommend minimizing the number of Administrators in a given team account.

Creator

A Creator has all of the capabilities of a Viewer, as well as access to the authoring tools in Human Studio, the ability to save models to Team Models, and the ability to invite new members to the team.

  • Like Viewers, can view all models in Explore and My Library (Private Models and Team Models), save models to Private Models, and invite new team members.
  • Can additionally save models to Team Models, publish models from Private Models and Team Models, customize any model in Human Studio, and edit/save changes to owned or editable models in Team Models (i.e., models that either they created or that other team members saved with "Team - View & Edit" permissions).

We recommend this role for any team members who will be curating, customizing, and/or collaborating on models.

This is the default role for new team members joining via a team code or custom team registration link.2

Viewer

A Viewer is able to view all models in Explore and My Library (Private Models and Team Models) and save models to Private Models only.

Viewers cannot save models to or edit models saved in Team Models, publish models from Private Models or Team Models, or access the authoring tools in Human Studio.

In addition, Viewers cannot access the list of team members or invite new members to the team.

We recommend this role for third parties, vendors, advisors, or any other users who need or would benefit from access to the full Human Library and/or models that other members have saved to Team Models, but who do not need access to Human Studio.

 

Permissions by role

The table below provides a quick reference on what actions a team member with each role is able to take within the app.

  Administrator Creator Viewer

View and interact with models in Explore and the "Team" section of My Library

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg checkmark.svg

Take quizzes in Explore and the "Team" section of My Library

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg checkmark.svg

Save models from Explore to the "Private" section of My Library

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg checkmark.svg
Copy a model's URL (see Share a model) checkmark.svg checkmark.svg checkmark.svg

Edit or delete models you originally created

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg checkmark.svg

Invite new members to the team

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg cross.svg

View and search a list of active team members

Note: Only Administrators see active team members' email addresses. Creators only see first name and last name.

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg cross.svg

View and manage a list of pending invites

Note: Creators see only the invites they have sent, while Administrators see a comprehensive list of all pending invites sent by members of the team.

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg cross.svg

Publish models from the "Private" or "Team" section of My Library

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg cross.svg

Save models from Explore to the "Team" section of My Library

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg cross.svg

Customize models from Explore or My Library in Human Studio

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg cross.svg

Edit models saved by other team members with "Team - View & Edit" permissions

checkmark.svg checkmark.svg cross.svg

Edit models saved by other team members with "Team - View Only" permissions

checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg

Create and manage collections in the "Team" section of My Library

checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg

Remove models created by other team members from the "Team" section of My Library

Note: To remove a model created by another team member, you will need to either change the model's permissions to "Private" or transfer all of the team member's models to your account and then delete individual models as desired.

checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg
Change any model's permissions checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg

Transfer models to a different team member

checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg
Assign and modify team members' roles checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg

Remove members from the team

checkmark.svg cross.svg cross.svg

View models that other team members have saved to the "Private" section of My Library

Note: Private models cannot be viewed by anyone but their owner, including Administrators.

cross.svg cross.svg cross.svg

 

1Teams—and therefore team member roles and permissions—are available for School and Business plan customers only. If you are interested in upgrading to a School or Business plan, contact our sales team so they can help you choose the plan that is right for you.

2If you use a team code or custom team registration link to share access to your team and would like to request a different default role for new team members, contact your Account Manager or our Customer Experience team.